Take the 2-minute tour ×
Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

I don't recall seeing anything about caltrops obtained from a Bag of Endless Caltrops disappearing. Does that mean you could in theory stockpile these caltrops by regularly removing them from the bag, storing them separately, letting the bag's supply regenerate, and repeating?

share|improve this question

2 Answers 2

up vote 12 down vote accepted

Yes, you can.

As you say, the caltrops are not described as ever disappearing, and are in fact stated to “follow all the rules of for normal caltrops.” The item requires Leomund’s secret chest to make, which implies that it’s basically just literally an extradimensional space full of perfectly normal, mundane caltrops that you can draw at will. Maybe there’s a Hemi-demi-semi-plane of Caltrops somewhere.

At any rate, it’s not much of an exploit; caltrops aren’t exactly amazing. The sheer amount of time this takes prevents you from doing much with it most situations.

share|improve this answer
    
I just thought being able to stockpile caltrops for covering large areas in single turns might be useful. ...and now I also picture rolling purple on a Prismatic spell sending someone to the Demielemental Plane of Caltrops. –  Cobalt Apr 28 '13 at 19:54
1  
@Cobalt Well yes, that's exactly what the bag is for. That ability isn't terribly useful much of the time, which is why it's 800 gp for the thing. That's still a pretty large mark-up from normal bags of caltrops, but it's small in the overall scheme of things because you rarely get that kind of time. –  KRyan Apr 28 '13 at 19:55
    
@Cobalt A little like the World of Shrimp –  starwed Apr 28 '13 at 20:07

I don't see why not. Generally nonmagical objects created by conjuration spells are permanent. The bag radiates conjuration magic; the caltrops produced are nonmagical.

The bag costs 800gp, 5 handfuls of caltrops would cost 5gp. No balance concern there. (And if you want to consider the economic ramifications of magic in the D&D verse, this bag is the least of your problems.)

share|improve this answer
8  
So very true about the economics. –  KRyan Apr 28 '13 at 4:49
3  
"And in the millennia to follow, the Caltrop Retrievers' Cult did anything in its power to bring woe and ruin to this world. They pulled and pulled tons of caltrops from their unholy bags until the face of the Earth could no longer be seen under the mountains of rusted caltrops. Welcome to Caltrop World!" –  Xabei Apr 28 '13 at 11:10
1  
@Xabei - Ah, the long awaited Caltrop event horizon. –  Mark Booth Apr 28 '13 at 18:12

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.