Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

My question is simple: does raising the dead with a "raise dead" spell constitute a type of summoning that can be affected by the augment summoning feat? (Aren't we effectively "summoning" the dead spirit from a different plane?) I suspect it is not, but want to double-check on behalf of one of my players.

share|improve this question
Well it is a conjuration spell for a start, aside from that - don't know! – Rob Apr 28 '13 at 17:51
up vote 13 down vote accepted

No, it does not.

Augment Summoning refers to Conjuration (Summoning) spells only. See the text:

Each creature you conjure with a summoning spell

(emphasis mine)

They could be more explicit and state Conjuration (Summoning), but ultimately it’s pretty clear that this is what they meant. Technically, “summoning” is a particular form of calling another creature or spirit that follows the specific rules given under the Conjuration (Summoning) section of the Magic Overview. Raise dead is not a Conjuration (Summoning) spell, it is Conjuration (Healing).

Moreover, this strikes me as a bad idea in any event. Dying shouldn’t be a good thing...

share|improve this answer
People often gloss over the rules for Schools of Magic, though they're really important to understand! – starwed Apr 28 '13 at 22:34

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.