Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

The skeleton variant bloody skeleton has the special quality Deathless:

Deathless (Su): A bloody skeleton is destroyed when reduced to 0 hit points, but it returns to unlife 1 hour later at 1 hit point, allowing its fast healing thereafter to resume healing it. A bloody skeleton can be permanently destroyed if it is destroyed by positive energy, if it is reduced to 0 hit points in the area of a bless or hallow spell, or if its remains are sprinkled with a vial of holy water.

The point here is the destruction, if it is reduced to 0 HP in the area of a Bless spell. That does not seem to make sense. Bless is a burst and every ally is affected that is in the burst, but not one that enters the area later (at least I think that works that way). Why should it have any effect on Bloody skeletons? Hallow makes sense, it affects an area. Consecrate would make more sense than bless in that case. Is that an error, or what is the idea behind this?

share|improve this question
up vote 14 down vote accepted

This seems to be a case of the creature description being based on a development version of a spell that was changed before publication, but the bloody skeleton's ability wasn't updated to match. Or the design notes for the bloody skeleton read something like "or 0 hp on blessed ground" and the developer that actually wrote the text didn't do due diligence in translating that into the correct spells. However it happened, it's an error rather than a mysterious rules interaction.

Go with your gut, and change it to "the area of a consecrate or hallow spell". Pathfinder and d20 system games in general expect GMs to make their worlds believable rather than to slavishly follow rules into weird contradictions and twisted corner cases that break suspension of disbelief, so you're entirely in the right to change this in your own games. If you're a player in another GM's game, suggest the fix as a sensible thing to do, but leave it up to your GM.

share|improve this answer

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.