Take the 2-minute tour ×
Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

The Character in question is a Large half-Minotaur Goliath who is using monkey grip.

Normally a Large Goliath could wield a Huge weapon with no penalty. Monkey Grip allows you to wield a weapon 1 size larger at a -2 penalty without changing the effort it takes to wield. So, would these effects stack and allow me to wield a Gargantuan 1-handed Weapon?

share|improve this question

3 Answers 3

up vote 16 down vote accepted

No, they do not stack.

The reason they don't is that both the racial trait and the feat reference your normal size category.

Powerful Build:

A Goliath can use weapons designed for a creature one size larger without penalty

Monkey Grip:

You can use melee weapons one size category larger than you are

In the case of a Goliath with Monkey Grip, both would be referencing the Goliath's actual size, which is Medium.

share|improve this answer

The benefits of this racial trait stack with the effects of powers, abilities, and spells that change the subject’s size category.

share|improve this answer
    
Powerful Build doesn't change the subject's size category, though - their size category is just considered one greater for certain specific things. It lets them wield larger weapons than normal, which seems to be the relevant thing here, but that isn't as a result of their size category being considered one greater for the purposes of equipping weapons. –  doppelgreener Oct 22 '13 at 4:56
    
Welcome to the site! Please take a look at the tour and the help; they're a useful introduction to the site. And once you have 20+ rep, feel free to join the chat! –  Tridus Oct 22 '13 at 11:06

It depends on the exact wording of the Goliath's Powerful Build, which I believe states that they count as Large whenever it would benefit them. Since counting as Large for the purposes of Monkey Grip benefits you, they would stack.

share|improve this answer
3  
Please provide a quote to support your interpretation. –  Brian Ballsun-Stanton May 12 '13 at 7:48
    
@Pohpoh You may be thinking of this sentence from Powerful Build's description: "Whenever a goliath is subject to a size modifier or special size modifier for an opposed check (such as during grapple checks, bull rush attempts, and trip attempts), the goliath is treated as one size larger if doing so is advantageous to him." There doesn't appear to be any statements like what you're describing. –  doppelgreener May 13 '13 at 4:29

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.