Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

If a class or race has an ECL but no LA value, does that mean that the ECL is the LA, or that it just has a LA of 0 and your character is just that much more powerful with no drawbacks?

For example, I think the Paragon template does not have a LA. It only says under ECL that the character is effectively 15 levels higher.

share|improve this question
up vote 6 down vote accepted

ECL, or equivalent character level, is a value you can calculate for a PC, not for a race or class. It's the sum of all the creature's hit dice (be them racial or class) and the level adjustment score.

Let's make an example: a Drow elf warrior 1 has no racial HD, 1 class HD and a LA of 2. His ECL is 3. For completeness I'm also reminding this value is different from the creature's Challenge Rating (CR) if encountered as an hostile NPC.

If a creature has a LA of "-", that's the author's way of telling you it's not a playable race. It can only be used as a NPC. This holds true for templates.

The paragon template has no ECL and no LA, it has a CR increase instead. This is used to calculate the challenge rating of a paragon creature NPC.

Since this was only an example, should you come across a template that has no LA but has an ECL (and this would be really strange, I think it could happen in some example PCs), LA=ECL-HD is the solution.

share|improve this answer
I actually did not know that anything with a Lv.Adj. was not meant for player use. I know that my DM had allowed players to use things that do have Lv. Adj. in there character creation. – Jackskel21 May 14 '13 at 21:25
Anything without a LA is not meant for player use. A Drow elf has a LA af 2, it is supposed to be as powerful as a character with 2 more HD. An Earth Elemental has a LA of -, it can't be used by players, unless the DM decides a LA and overrides the monster's statblock. – Zachiel May 14 '13 at 21:34
So it is all actually about the DM's discression? – Jackskel21 May 14 '13 at 21:37
While everything in D&D 3.5 is DM discretion, by the rules any creature with LA is buildable as a PC (most DM will have a limited selection of races for their campaign or a maximum LA limit for character creation) and creatures with LA "-" (which is different from LA 0) are banned. Since it's D&D, any willing DM can create new player races from scratch or from monster races. Since this is not a forum but a Q&A site I invite you to come to the chat if you want to further discuss things that are outside of the scope of the question. – Zachiel May 14 '13 at 21:50
I might just take you up on that thank you for your input. – Jackskel21 May 15 '13 at 5:35

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.