Take the 2-minute tour ×
Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

In 13th Age, like most D20 variants, you can have items or abilities that improve your crit range. However, in 13th Age, a natural 20 is a automatic crit hit (if I am not mistaken, you do not need to check if you hit). What is unclear to me if say I have +2 Crit Range (18-20), is it an automatic hit if I roll a 18, or do I is that just a threat and I need to roll to see if I hit?

Updated with the rules (pg 196 of the Escalation V6 version)

Every attack roll that is a natural 20 is a crit ('critical hit') for double damage.

And that's all it says. Here's the part on crit range:

Each point of improvement in crit range drops the number needed to score a critical hit by 1.

share|improve this question
2  
Does the game say anywhere that confirmation is necessary? Are you just assuming "crit confirmation" is a thing that exists in the system because it is a thing in d20? –  SevenSidedDie May 21 '13 at 20:31

2 Answers 2

up vote 8 down vote accepted

In you threaten a critical hit on a natural roll within your threat range, and it needs to be confirmed to become an actual critical hit by re-rolling the attack die (the "critical roll") and scoring a hit. (d20 SRD)

In , per your citations, you have a crit range instead, and you automatically score a critical hit on a natural roll within this range. There is no need to confirm.

In your case, if you roll a natural 18 on an attack with a weapon with an 18-20 crit range, you may roll for double damage.

share|improve this answer

A critical double damage (pg 167 core book). However, I don't see anything that says that all criticals are automatic hits. By a strict reading, this could lead to a case with an expanded crit range and a hard to hit opponent where a roll could be a critical but also a miss. So it would in that case double the miss damage.

With a less strict reading, the rules call out a 20 as a "critical hit", and the rules do imply some familiarity with other d20 games for basic concepts. Having any critical as a hit would be a defendable position. This could be supported that while there are rules for 20 as auto-success for skills (something not true in some popular d20 games), there are no rules that say that a 20 attack is an auto-hit, just an assumption that it is.

share|improve this answer
    
Dunno about that reasoning. You can't "score a critical hit" if you miss. –  SevenSidedDie Jun 6 at 22:42

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.