Take the 2-minute tour ×
Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

In 13th Age, like most D20 variants, you can have items or abilities that improve your crit range. However, in 13th Age, a natural 20 is a automatic crit hit (if I am not mistaken, you do not need to check if you hit). What is unclear to me if say I have +2 Crit Range (18-20), is it an automatic hit if I roll a 18, or do I is that just a threat and I need to roll to see if I hit?

Updated with the rules (pg 196 of the Escalation V6 version)

Every attack roll that is a natural 20 is a crit ('critical hit') for double damage.

And that's all it says. Here's the part on crit range:

Each point of improvement in crit range drops the number needed to score a critical hit by 1.

share|improve this question
Can you cite the rule on a natural 20 being an automatic critical hit? In 'standard' D20 rules (like those seen in 3.5) a natural 20 is an automatic normal hit but still has to be confirmed in order to be a critical hit... –  Lord_Gareth May 21 '13 at 12:01
Added in the rules. –  Extrakun May 21 '13 at 18:15
Does the game say anywhere that confirmation is necessary? Are you just assuming "crit confirmation" is a thing that exists in the system because it is a thing in d20? –  SevenSidedDie May 21 '13 at 20:31
add comment

1 Answer

up vote 4 down vote accepted

In you threaten a critical hit on a natural role within your threat range, and it needs to be confirmed to become an actual critical hit by re-rolling the attack die (the "critical roll") and scoring a hit. (d20 SRD)

In , per your citations, you have a crit range instead, and you automatically score a critical hit on a natural roll within this range. There is no need to confirm.

In your case, if you roll a natural 18 on an attack with a weapon with an 18-20 crit range, you may roll for double damage.

share|improve this answer
add comment

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.