Take the 2-minute tour ×
Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

From Complete Champion p 61:

You can temporarily relieve ability damage.
Prerequisite: Ability to cast 2nd-level spells.
Benefit: As long as you have any restoration spell or another conjuration (healing) spell that cures ability damage available to cast, you can confer temporary ability points on yourself or an ally. As a standard action, you can create 2 points + 1 point per level of the highest-level such spell you have available to cast.
These ability points can be applied to any single damaged ability, raising it to a maximum of its starting score. Temporary ability points granted in this way disappear after 10 minutes, returning the subject to its previous damaged state unless some other effect restores the lost ability points first. You can use this effect on the same individual as many times as you wish. As a secondary benefit, you gain a +1 competence bonus to your caster level when casting conjuration (healing) spells.

Are these temporary ability points "lost first" like temporary hp? Can you effectively use this to prevent further damage to that ability by repeated use of this feat? My instincts say no but I can't find a definitive answer anywhere.

share|improve this question
add comment

1 Answer

up vote 4 down vote accepted

There's no RAW on this that I can find

Which I realize is every kind of unhelpful, but I thought I'd make this clear: at no point did anyone actually bother defining what "temporary ability score" actually means.

With that in mind...

The spell goes through all the fuss and bother to not make it an ability score bonus, which it could have very easily done and had the same net effect. This leads me to suggest that a "temporary ability score point" should be treated like a temporary hit point - which is to say, it's lost first before "real" ability score points are. Again, though, this is not supported by any explicitly written rules, and is instead my personal interpretation based on a potential implication in the wording of the spell and the extremely loose precedent of temporary hit points.

share|improve this answer
    
I'm reasonably certain that Mitigate Suffering is literally the only place in the entire set of published rules where the concept of temporary ability score points is ever mentioned. –  KRyan May 27 '13 at 15:10
add comment

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.