Take the 2-minute tour ×
Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

Limited Magic Resistance states:

You are less able to resist magic than other magi. You gain no bonus from one of your Form scores to Magic Resistance rolls, though if you are caught without your Parma Magica, you retain a Magic Resistance of 0. You may take this Flaw multiple times, for multiple Forms.

When does a magi actually roll for magic resistance? In what situations is this applicable?

share|improve this question
add comment

1 Answer

up vote 4 down vote accepted

The passage you cited makes no mention of rolling, only that the magus with Limited Magic Resistance has a Form which does not increase his Magic Resistance against relevant spells.

Per ArM5, p. 85:

Hermetic magi have a base Magic Resistance equal to their score in the Form most applicable to the spell cast.

Further down the same page:

The Parma Magica, Bonisagus’s great invention, is an Ability that grants magic resistance that adds to the resistance arising from a maga’s Form scores.

Therefore, a magus with Limited Magic Resistance will have Magic Resistance of only (Parma Magica * 5) against one Form's spells rather than the normal (Parma Magica * 5) + Form.

share|improve this answer
add comment

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.