Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

This question already has an answer here:

My group and I are new to D&D and we read through the rules for the D&D Next play test. It seems to indicate that attack modifiers apply to damage as a bonus. Does this apply with the magic modifier to spell damage? So does 18 intelligence for a level 1 Wizard give +5 bonus damage to spells? I don't see how the attack bonus otherwise would be relevant since it seems the opposing creatures have to make a DC check against the spells.

Am I missing anything?

share|improve this question

marked as duplicate by doppelgreener, Miniman, Wibbs, okeefe, MadMAxJr Dec 18 '14 at 18:30

This question has been asked before and already has an answer. If those answers do not fully address your question, please ask a new question.

I'm voting to close this playtest version question as a duplicate of the same question about the full version, so as to point people there. (I don't believe this question should be edited, and is fine as is, except for that the duplicate closure would be helpful.) – doppelgreener Dec 17 '14 at 22:45

On page 3 of Character Creation it states, that the spell casting bonus applies to two things:

  • The Spell DC for the spell (you add this to your stat and 10 and get the DC)
  • The attack from the spell. If the spell makes an attack you add this to the attack roll.

The melee/ranged attack modifier also only applies to the to-hit. It does not apply to the damage.

share|improve this answer

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.