Take the 2-minute tour ×
Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

Fate Core (p. 81) states that you earn fate points when your aspects are invoked against you:

If someone pays a fate point to invoke an aspect attached to your character, you gain their fate point at the end of the scene. This includes advantages created on your character, as well as consequences.

I mostly understand this rule, but I'm not sure which characters can benefit from it. Specifically:

  • Which aspects count as “attached to your character”?
  • Can the GM earn these fate points for the next scene?
share|improve this question
1  
Are you interested only in Official Rules answers, or would you welcome GM experience and houserule suggestions? –  BESW May 31 '13 at 7:23
    
@BESW Both are great. Of course it's always good to know which stuff is official and which is personal advice. –  Bradd Szonye May 31 '13 at 7:24
    
In a similar question for Dresden Files RPG, the answer refers to a rule on DFRPG p. 197 that characters get these fate points at the end of every exchange in a conflict, instead of at the end of a scene. Is that rule also in Fate Core, or was it removed? –  Bradd Szonye May 31 '13 at 8:51
    
That would make an excellent new question, to which I have an answer. –  BESW May 31 '13 at 10:42

2 Answers 2

up vote 6 down vote accepted

Which aspects count as “attached to your character”?

  • Any aspect you wrote on the character sheet as part of character creation
  • any aspect due to consequences of stress or concession of conflict.
  • any aspect you have created upon yourself in play (usually by the create advantage action)
  • any aspect inflicted upon you in play (usually by the create advantage action)

Aspects attached elsewhere are not normally attached to your character. For example, one could see this post as an attempt to create "Knows the rules" and attaching it to Bradd Szonye... If I succeed, Bradd has that aspect attached. I don't.

Likewise, if I create the aspect "Smelly Room," it attaches to the location, not to me. Someone else could invoke the location's aspect in attempting to affix to me the "Smells bad" aspect.

Can the GM earn these fate points for the next scene?

No. See page 82 (emphasis mine):

The NPCs under your control are not so lucky. They have a limited pool of fate points you get to use on their behalf. Whenever a scene starts, you get one fate point for every PC in that scene. You can use these points on behalf of any NPC you want, but you can get more in that scene if they take a compel, like PCs do.

You reset to your default total, one per PC, at the beginning of every scene.

There are two exceptions:

  • You accepted a compel that effectively ended the last scene or starts the next one. If that happens, take an extra fate point in the next scene.

  • You conceded a conflict to the PCs in the previous scene. If that happens, take the fate points you’d normally get for the concession into the next scene and add them to the default total.

If the immediate next scene doesn’t present a significant interaction with NPCs, you can save these extra points until the next scene that does.

On a related but different "No"... from page 81 (emphasis mine):

Have Your Aspects Invoked Against You: If someone pays a fate point to invoke an aspect attached to your character, you gain their fate point at the end of the scene. This includes advantages created on your character, as well as consequences.

This confirms that non-compel invokes do not grant fate to the NPC Fate Pool.

share|improve this answer
    
If I create the aspect, "Annoyingly convinced" and intend it to be compelled upon Bradd, it's attached to Bradd, not me... If I create the aspect "air filled with smoke from the Deacon's censor", it's able to be affixed to the deacon or to the location/zone, or to the scene as a whole. Once attached elsewhere, it's no longer mine. I don't get fate for it. But I get to use it, and so does everyone else. And yes, Scene A's points go away when A ends, and a new pool is created when Scene B begins; excepting, of course, scene ending concessions and/or accepted compels. –  aramis May 31 '13 at 12:01
    
@aramis "No. See page 82 (emphasis mine):" - there's no emphasis! –  Jonathan Hobbs May 31 '13 at 13:03
    
@JonathanHobbs thanks - I revised from preview to released version, and forgot to re-emphasize. –  aramis Jun 1 '13 at 21:43
2  
Your third bullet ("any aspect you have created in play"): should that have another qualifier on it, like "on yourself"? –  SevenSidedDie Jun 2 '13 at 1:45
    
yes, it should. –  aramis Jun 2 '13 at 11:35

Which aspects count as “attached to your character”? This includes character aspects, consequences, and situation aspects attached to your character (p. 136), but not game aspects or situation aspects attached to the environment.

Can the GM earn these fate points for the next scene? The rules for GM fate points (p. 82) state that GMs take extra fate points for scene-ending compels and for conceding a conflict, but they don't mention aspects invoked against NPCs. Therefore, only players can earn fate points this way.

share|improve this answer
    
I think this is how the rules are supposed to work, but corrections and clarifications are welcome. –  Bradd Szonye May 31 '13 at 7:32

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.