Take the 2-minute tour ×
Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

This spell makes the duration of certain other spell*s* permanent. You first cast the desired spell and then follow it with the permanency spell.

What if you're under the influence of multiple spells that could potentially be made permanent and own enough diamond dust for the making-permanent of all of them? Would one casting of permanency be enough?

If not, how would it decide which of the spells becomes permanent?

share|improve this question
    
"If not, how would it decide which of the spells becomes permanent?" -- the wording is sloppy, but you should probably treat it as target: one spell rather than target: see below. –  starwed Jun 5 '13 at 16:15
add comment

1 Answer 1

In its normal use, it's one permanency per spell to be made permanent. The only time you get a "bulk discount" on permanency is when it's part of the magic item creation process, when one permanency might be how multiple enchantments are bound into the item. For plain old spells on yourself, there's no bulk discount.

share|improve this answer
    
Do you have a source for the bulk discount on items? –  Julix Jun 2 '13 at 10:28
6  
@Julix He's talking about hypothetical items that require permanency to craft, I believe. The rules for magic-item-creation state that you must cast each spell once as a part of the creation process. But I really doubt that permanency is ever actually used in the creation of any item, since it would be very clear what, if any, money it costs to cast for the purposes of making the item. –  KRyan Jun 2 '13 at 16:16
add comment

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.