If he really doesn't want either option, he can choose not to make use of them. But, by the rules as written in the Core rulebook, no, there is no standard option for substituting a power to replace them.
Nothing stops you from doing whatever you like in your own game, so you could simply provide a bonus feat of the PCs' choice to replace the arcane bond ability.
In addition, there are a handful of official Archetypes that replace Arcane Bond with another ability. These are scattered over a variety of sourcebooks. Several of them also significantly change the flavour of the Wizard class (i.e. Spellslinger, which uses guns, or the Scrollmaster, who is a close combat expert, but with Scrolls rather than normal weapons or armour), and a third of them require specific races to use.