Take the 2-minute tour ×
Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

How does forced movement (in this specific case, a push) interact with corners? I have a situation that is as follows:

enter image description here

A uses a power that has a push 1. By how I'm interpreting the rules, B cannot be pushed anywhere - to get to D1, he'd have to move 2 squares (D2, then D1) in the same way as if he were trying to walk around the corner normally. Since a push to D2 would leave him no further than when he started, the push doesn't work.

Is this the right line of thinking, or do the rules allow for a diagonal push in this situation?

share|improve this question

1 Answer 1

up vote 5 down vote accepted

You cannot push a creature when there is an obstacle in the way.

From DDI:

Corners: When an obstacle fills a square, you can’t move diagonally across the corner of that square.

and

a target cannot be forced through blocking terrain.

share|improve this answer
5  
Something that makes my players happier about this rule is that I allow them to do damage by slamming the target into the obstacle (usually 1d6 per lost square of forced movement). Likewise, enemies can do it to the players, and powerful pushes can actually damage or destroy terrain. Getting some damage out of it keeps it from feeling like a waste to use push powers in these situations. –  thatgirldm Jun 7 '13 at 7:35

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.