Take the 2-minute tour ×
Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

The description for splash weapons says:

A hit deals direct hit damage to the target, and splash damage to all creatures within 5 feet of the target.

Does that mean that it hits a 3x3 area, or a plus sign? Are diagonals included? I know for the purposes of movement, moving diagonally once only counts as five feet.

share|improve this question
2  
it splashes into all adjacent squares. yes diagonals are included. –  Colin D Jun 10 '13 at 0:33
1  
@ColinD Any particular reason you're not posting that as an answer? It sounds an awful lot like one. –  BESW Jun 10 '13 at 1:24
1  
@BESW I did not have a relevant rules quote at the time, so I opted for a comment. –  Colin D Jun 10 '13 at 14:26
add comment

1 Answer

up vote 7 down vote accepted

Yes, you include the diagonals, because the diagonals are within five feet.

When calculating distance along diagonals, one uses a “5, 10” alternating scheme: the first diagonal square is within 5 feet (and therefore within the splash), the second diagonal square is 10 feet beyond that (i.e. 15 feet), so it would not be within a hypothetical 10-ft. splash.

The section on Throwing a Splash Weapon has more details.

share|improve this answer
add comment

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.