Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

I am building a TWF Ninja for Pathfinder and I like the idea of using the double walking-stick katana, both for the option of using a Quarterstaff and the flavor of having hidden deadly weapons. The description for the weapons says that the blades inside the staff are closer to the wakizashi than to a katana. For the purposes of weapon focus, would weapon focus(wakizashi) work for when I use the blade or would I need to get weapon focus(double walking-stick katana)?

share|improve this question
Although this is my homebrew only, I suggest you divide it based on how it works. Are you using it as a katana? Then focus (katana) works. Are you using it like a staff? Then its weapon focus (quarterstaff). And if you are wielding it like a double katana, then a focus related to it, or possibly double swords in general, will aply. – kravaros Jun 21 '13 at 22:45

Usually, in this situation, the rules would say something like “Weapon Focus (wakizashi) also applies to this weapon” or something like that. In the absence of a statement like that, the default is no, Weapon Focus (wakizashi) does not apply, in which case you would need to take Weapon Focus (double walking-stick katana).

However, it probably should say something like that, in my opinion. Weapon Focus is a pretty weak feat; you really don’t need to be taking it repeatedly. It certainly sounds like Weapon Focus should be shared between the two.

share|improve this answer

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.