Take the 2-minute tour ×
Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

I just have read the Dogs in the Vineyard rulebook, and I have a question regarding conflict resolution.

If there is a conflict between two characters, and at some point one escalates from talking to gun fighting, adding the dice from the gun and raising with an 14 (for example), firing at the opponent. If the opponent can't see the raise, he has to give the fight, and therefore I choose the outcome of the conflict. But what happens to that raise I had made? Does he take the blow with all his remaining dice, or do I choose that, too?

English is not my native language, so maybe it's explained in the text, but I haven't been able to understand it.

share|improve this question
    
Welcome to the site! It's nice to see a dogs-in-the-vineyard question. Please take some time to read the help sections; they're good orientation, giving a sense of what the site is about. And when you have 20+ rep, feel free to join the chat! –  BESW Jun 21 '13 at 12:45
add comment

1 Answer

up vote 4 down vote accepted

Treat it as though your opponent had blocked or dodged your raise. You get the stakes, but your opponent gets to block or dodge your last raise for free.

share|improve this answer
add comment

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.