Take the 2-minute tour ×
Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

I'm confused about Rogues and Use Magic Device. I've searched the core book and the Internet for the past 4 hours and can't find the answer to my simple question.

Since a Rogue doesn't have any spells, a spell list or caster level, do you have to emulate a class feature in addition to all other necessary checks to use items like scrolls and wands?

share|improve this question

3 Answers 3

No

The relevant parts of Use Magic Device are as follows, from the PFSRD (emphasis mine):

You can use this skill to read a spell or to activate a magic item. Use Magic Device lets you use a magic item as if you had the spell ability or class features of another class, as if you were a different race, or as if you were of a different alignment. You make a Use Magic Device check each time you activate a device such as a wand. If you are using the check to emulate an alignment or some other quality in an ongoing manner, you need to make the relevant Use Magic Device check once per hour.

and

Use a scroll- 20 + caster level; Use a wand - 20

Wands and scrolls care about spell ability, which, while it can be a class feature, is not always a class feature. As a result, activating wands and scrolls has the static DCs described above and does not require an additional or more difficult check. However, as Colin D pointed out in comments scrolls have an additional requirement of a minimum ability score (a requirement wands lack) for use; therefore if the Rogue in question does not have the minimum required ability score he has to emulate the score in addition to activating the scroll.

share|improve this answer
    
Thank you this is very helpful –  Draon777 Jul 5 '13 at 20:30
    
Wands do not require emulation, but scrolls do if you do not meet the ability score requirement! –  Colin D Jul 5 '13 at 20:33
    
True enough - I'll add that to my answer. –  Lord_Gareth Jul 5 '13 at 20:45

Wands = No.
Scrolls = Maybe.

For wands, only a single UMD check (DC 20) is needed:

Use a Wand, Staff, or Other Spell Trigger Item: Normally, to use a wand, you must have the wand's spell on your class spell list. This use of the skill allows you to use a wand as if you had a particular spell on your class spell list. Failing the roll does not expend a charge.

For scrolls:

If you do not meet the ability score requirement (int for wizard spells, wis for divine spells, or cha for sorcerer and bard spells) of the spell (10 + spell level) you will need to also make a UMD check to 'emulate an ability score' in addition to the UMD check required to activate the scroll.

Use a Scroll: Normally, to cast a spell from a scroll, you must have the scroll's spell on your class spell list. Use Magic Device allows you to use a scroll as if you had a particular spell on your class spell list. The DC is equal to 20 + the caster level of the spell you are trying to cast from the scroll. In addition, casting a spell from a scroll requires a minimum score (10 + spell level) in the appropriate ability. If you don't have a sufficient score in that ability, you must emulate the ability score with a separate Use Magic Device check.

http://paizo.com/prd/skills/useMagicDevice.html

share|improve this answer
    
My confusion is rouges do not have a class spell list Thus is it necessary for a rogue to emulate the class feature of a wizard to use a wizards scroll or wand. I get emulating races, ability scores and alignments and just about all other bases of the skill. –  Draon777 Jul 5 '13 at 21:01
1  
@Draon777: Just picture it in your head as if everyone has a class spell list for each class they have, but only spellcasting classes have any entries on it. The rogue uses UMD to add a spell to their currently-empty spell list for a round. –  Jeff Jul 6 '13 at 5:03

basicly using Use Magic Device lets you use a magic item as if you had the spell ability or class features of another class, as if you were a different race, or as if you were of a different alignment.

It implies that you have that spell list of a wizard, sorcerer or whatever class

share|improve this answer

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.