Take the 2-minute tour ×
Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

If a grenade or a Blast affects two zombies, three werewolves, and their evil leader (a WC), how many times do I roll for damage?

The Savage Worlds Deluxe on p70 says that: "Everything under (or partially under) the template is affected, rolling damage separately for each Wild Card or group of Extras". This suggests I roll three times.

However, the FAQ state that you must "Roll the damage once and apply to each target separately". This suggests I roll once.

I have searched on StackExchange and the official forum but could not find an answer to this question. Which one is correct?

share|improve this question
add comment

1 Answer

I asked in the official forum and the answer is: you roll once per group of extras and once per wild card.

The rulebook is correct, roll three times.

To clarify, Savagepedia is "The Unofficial Savage Worlds Wiki" and is handled by fans not Pinnacle. Also note, that FAQ specifically says it is for "Savage Worlds Revised" which is an older edition of the rules than SW Deluxe.

Update: As @Phil notes, the term 'group of extras' is flexible and not necessarily restricted to 'groups made by common type', as my question seems to imply.

share|improve this answer
2  
Note that the definition of a 'group of Extras' can be flexible. If a grenade landed and hit a mass of 12 soldier Extras, I would probably split them into 3 or 4 groups for the purposes of determining damage. Otherwise a single damage roll would either wipe out the whole lot or none of them. –  Phil Jul 8 '13 at 10:34
1  
Very good point! I am adding it to my answer. :-) –  sergut Jul 8 '13 at 12:20
    
@Phil, good point, though 12 soldiers packed that close are very vulnerable to a grenade going off. It wouldn't be unreasonable to assume one grenade incapacitated a dozen soldiers. –  Toast Jul 9 '13 at 19:39
add comment

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.