Take the 2-minute tour ×
Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

All the martial classes from ToB have different methods of preparing and re-preparing maneuvers, but the basic mechanics are pretty much the same for all of them (well, maybe just two, except the crusader).

So, here's the question: Can a martial artist ready 2+ of the same maneuver at the same time? I heard people who say "no", but RaW looks pretty much the opposite to me. 0_o

share|improve this question

3 Answers 3

up vote 8 down vote accepted

No, a given martial maneuver can not be readied more than once.

The reason for this confusion is that maneuvers and spells are similar enough in their implementation to make it easy to miss the few ways in which they are different - the ability to prepare a spell more than once being one of them. As seen on page 178 of the Player's Handbook:

[A prepared spellcaster] can prepare the same spell more than once, but each preparation counts as one spell toward her daily limit.

The important part is that no equivalent clause exists for martial initiators.

Having defeated the mental trap of assuming that maneuvers work something like spells, we can re-examine what the text actually says about maneuvers.

ToB page 22 (Warblade):

You begin an encounter with all your readied maneuvers unexpended, regardless of how many times you might have already used them since you chose them. When you initiate a maneuver, you expend it for the current encounter, so each of your readied maneuvers can be used once per encounter

ToB page 38 (Blade Magic):

maneuvers require preparation in the form of exercise, prayer, meditation, or simple mental rehearsal. Therefore, you must choose a selection of readied maneuvers from all the maneuvers you know. Only your readied maneuvers are available for immediate use.

Similar language is used throughout the book. There is no reference to "maneuver slots" or similar terms that are used in Vancian spellcasting.

Instead, the book consistently refers to a maneuver as either known or not known, readied or not readied (and in the case of the Crusader, granted or not granted). There is a defined way for a spellcaster to "prepare the same spell more than once", but maneuvers do not inherit that property.

The act of readying maneuvers is more like the one of iterating through your maneuvers known, and deciding which of them have the "ready" flag and which of them don't than the one of loading a gun with spell bullets, as is the case with prepared spellcasters.

Maneuvers are either ready for use or they are not - a binary condition. There is no defined way a maneuver can be "ready twice".

For those who place faith in the official FAQ, it agrees with this reading.

share|improve this answer

Single-classed, no

@Ernir covers this well.

Multiclassed, maybe

The question is whether or not a maneuvers that you know are separated by the classes you are in or not. In other words, does a Crusader/Warblade have separate Crusader maneuvers and Warblade maneuvers, or just a single list of maneuvers? The book is not entirely clear.

Certainly, the Crusader and Warblade classes get access to some different disciplines (Devoted Spirit for Crusader; Diamond Mind, Iron Heart, and Tiger Claw for Warblade), but those restrictions are on which maneuvers they can learn as a part of leveling in those classes, not the maneuvers they can know. After all, they can use Martial Study or prestige class levels to get maneuvers from other disciplines.

And they definitely maintain separate lists of readied maneuvers, which affect how each maneuver is recovered and how many maneuvers can be readied at once. The book wouldn’t make any sense otherwise.

But the question remains whether or not the lists of maneuvers known are kept separated.

If they are not, then you cannot ever ready a maneuver more than once, because once you know the maneuver you know it and that’s the end of it. However, that also means that you can ready maneuvers that you “learned” from one class as a maneuver from the other class (assuming you have a high enough Initiator Level in the second class). For instance, a Crusader 8/Warblade 1 could learn iron heart surge (a 3rd-level Iron Heart maneuver, requires IL 5) with that Warblade level (½×8+1=5), but then ready it as one of his Crusader maneuvers (taking advantage of the Crusader’s generally-superior recovery mechanic).

If the lists are separated, however, so that you have your Warblade maneuvers known and your Crusader maneuvers known and every maneuver you learn is added to one or the other and cannot be readied from the opposite class, then you could learn the same maneuver with both classes: it only appears on a maneuvers known list once. And then you could ready it with each class, effectively readying it twice.

The book is not clear on this. The most common way to play, that I’ve seen, is actually a logically-inconsistent mix: you can not ready another class’s maneuvers but you can’t relearn or reready a maneuver that you know from another class either, as if the lists were both separate and combined at the same time. This, to me, is not a tenable position, however: the two options are mutually exclusive and half-one-way-half-the-other results in a kind of weird Schrödinger’s maneuver list.

share|improve this answer

Yes you can because, although others have pointed out that RAW makes no mention of being able to do this, there is no statement saying you can cannot. The text reads:

ToB page 22 (Warblade):

"You begin an encounter with all your readied maneuvers unexpended, regardless of how many times you might have already used them since you chose them. When you initiate a maneuver, you expend it for the current encounter, so each of your readied maneuvers can be used once per encounter"

There is no line saying you cannot ready the same maneuver multiple times. The same can be said for ToB page 38 (Blade Magic):

"maneuvers require preparation in the form of exercise, prayer, meditation, or simple mental rehearsal. Therefore, you must choose a selection of readied maneuvers from all the maneuvers you know. Only your readied maneuvers are available for immediate use."

Who is to say from this that your readied maneuvers could not all be the same one? If I choose to ready dance of the mongoose 8 times as a 12th level Swordsage, I have met all criteria outlined: I have chosen a selection of readied maneuvers from all the ones I know.

While it is true that there are no "Maneuver slots" and maneuvers DO NOT work like spells, RAW doesn't say anything about not being able to use the same maneuver twice when you've chosen what you ready. The only restriction is having to know the maneuver.

share|improve this answer
2  
When the game says you can, you can. When the game says you can't, you can't. When the game doesn't say at all, you usually can't. –  Hey I Can Chan Jul 3 at 20:01
    
@HeyICanChan The game doesn't say that you can move around by walking during a full moon, so by that logic, moon comes up, legs stop working. –  Matthew Najmon Jul 4 at 8:51
    
@MatthewNajmon But the game does allow for ground movement with specific restrictions that don't include your list. Lacking a fly speed, though, doesn't enable flight. –  Hey I Can Chan Jul 4 at 9:09
    
@HeyICanChan The flight thing is apples-to-oranges. The initiator class does allow for maneuvers to be readied, just as the game does allow for ground movement. It also spells out restrictions on that readying, and just as ground speed doesn't include a full moon on its restriction list, the initiator rules do not include "one instance of each maneuver" on its restriction list. –  Matthew Najmon Jul 4 at 9:28
    
@MatthewNajmon Hey, you appled-to-oranged first! :-) But the issue's fundamental with ToB: it uses real words--like ready and change--in real ways instead of in game ways. Seriously, in the real world if something is ready it just can't be readied again unless it's somehow made not ready after it was ready. Downvote me if you want, but a lot of the weirdness of ToB disappears if the book's read with real language in mind rather than gaming language. –  Hey I Can Chan Jul 4 at 9:52

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.