Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

Master of Flame paragon path has a level 12 Utility Power called Burning Transformation.

Burning Transformation - You transform into a creature of fire until the end of the encounter. While in this form you gain the following benefits and limitations: You are insubistantial, you can shift 1 square as a minor action, you are immune to fire, you gain a +5 power bonus to damage rolls with arcane fire attacks, and you cannot use any attack power without the Fire keyword. Aditionally, whenever an enemy hits you with a melee attack, it takes fire damage equal to 5 + your Intelligence modifier.

That said, Could a Swordmage wielding a Flaming Bastard Sword (with the Fire damage activated)use any Arcane Attack Power, for example: Sword Burst, as a power with the Fire keyword? In short, while Burning Transformation is active you can use any offensive Arcane attack power because a Flaming Weapon grants them the Fire keyword?

share|improve this question


A Weapon of Summer adds 3 fire damage to your rolls. This means that your swordmage is A-OK to use regular powers (that have damage rolls) wielding this weapon as they become fire powers.

From the Rules Compendium (pg 115):

If a power gains or loses damage types, the power gains the keywords for any damage types that are added, and it loses the keywords for any damage types that are removed.

A Flaming Weapon does not work, as an errata changed the it so that it only modifes untyped damage, and Sword Burst is Force.

share|improve this answer

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.