Take the 2-minute tour ×
Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

I'm creating a sorcerer for a game and can't find a feat that allows me to change my spell slots into spell points, am I mis-remembering this feat's existance?

share|improve this question
1  
Welcome to the site! Please take a look at the help; it's a useful introduction to the site. Spell points aren't a default-standard part of D&D 3.5 (not sure about PF), so if you could provide some context for the spell point system you want to use that'd be good; is it the one in Unearthed Arcana? The more you can tell us about the specific problem you're trying to solve, the more we can make sure our answers will help you. And once you have 20+ rep, feel free to join the chat! –  BESW Jul 19 '13 at 4:53
    
@BESW They're not a default-standard part of Pathfinder, either. –  GMJoe Jul 19 '13 at 5:21
2  
On a related note, this question brings up and asks about the impact of the spell point variant on sorcerors. –  doppelgreener Jul 19 '13 at 8:45
2  
I cannot more strongly recommend @Ernir's Psionics-to-Spellcasting translation: it is massively superior to the (quite broken) Unearthed Arcana spell point system. –  KRyan Jul 19 '13 at 13:56

2 Answers 2

up vote 13 down vote accepted

There is no such feat in D&D 3.5. Spell Points are a variant rule (replacing most slot-based magic in the game world), not an option accessible to individual spellcasters via feats or similar customization options.

To increase the flexibility of a Sorcerer via feats, I suggest the Versatile Spellcaster feat from Races of the Dragon. It allows you to use lower level slots to power higher level spells - not quite Spell Points, but often close enough.

share|improve this answer

Usually you just choose to use a spell point variant when you create the character: there’s no feat involved, it’s just something you ask your DM if you can do. I suppose a DM might decide that you can only if you take a feat, but that’s not part of even the variant spell point rules suggested by Unearthed Arcana. Actually, the only d20 System game I’m aware of that does have such a feat, here called Manyspell Magus, is Rule of Cool’s Legend.

share|improve this answer

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.