Take the 2-minute tour ×
Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

I recently bought the SR5 PDF and am really liking many of the changes. Especially that mystic adepts are not as underpowered as in previous editions. However how they gain power points during character advancement seems to be unclear, as this is only described for adepts (without mention of mystic adepts).

During character creation, mystic adepts can buy power points for 5 karma each, up to their magic attribute. Nothing similar is mentioned in the character advancement rules, only that adepts gain one power point for each point of magic they gain (or from gaining a power point on initiation instead of learning a metamagic technique).

Do mystic adepts also gain a power point for each point of magic without spending additional karma? Can they spend extra karma for magic points for which they did not buy power points during character creation? And last but not least, can they also gain extra power points instead of learning new metamagic techniques?

share|improve this question
    
+1 and welcome to the site! –  Sardathrion Jul 19 '13 at 15:04
1  
As far as I know the 2 Karma/Power Point will be Errata'ed to 5 (together with a few other minor changes). –  Joachim Sauer Aug 20 '13 at 13:53
1  
@JoachimSauer the errata is out, your are right. shadowruntabletop.com/2014/02/… –  András Feb 18 at 10:43

3 Answers 3

up vote 6 down vote accepted

The new errata answers the question clearly:

Change to following sentence: “You get a free Power Point whenever you increase your Magic attribute, and you can gain a Power Point through Initiation (p. 324) instead of gaining a metamagic.” To: “If you’re an adept, you get a free Power Point whenever you increase your Magic attribute (though this doesn’t apply to mystic adepts, and you can gain a Power Point through Initiation (p. 324) instead of gaining a metamagic.”

Therefore, further power points do not require spending of karma, but do require to forfeit a metamagic when initiating, and can only be acquired by initiation.

share|improve this answer

First, this is a good question, and after checking all over the place, it never clearly says how it works for mystic adepts. Therefore, this will be my reading of the rules, to the best of my ability.

The most important passage is the following:

At character creation, adepts receive Power Points equal to their Magic attribute, while mystic adepts have to buy Power Points with Karma. Subsequently, Power Points can come in two ways. You get a free Power Point whenever you increase your Magic attribute, and you can gain a Power Point through Initiation (p. 324) instead of gaining a metamagic. - p. 279 SR5

As I understand it, everything after "Subsequently" applies to both adepts and mystic adepts. This would mean that yes, they gain a Power Point for each new Magic point without spending karma, and yes, they can get extra Power Points instead of learning new metamagic techniques.

As for spending extra karma for magic points for which they did not buy power points during character creation, I couldn't find anything saying you could... nor anything saying you could not.

share|improve this answer
1  
That is my initial reading as well which seems quite broken, since mystics adepts would gain power points at the same rate as adepts... while becoming more powerful at spellcasting at the same rate as mages. With no extra karma spent. –  Joe Jul 20 '13 at 9:37
1  
@Joe But 10-12 Karma behind, without astral projection, needing more skills that normal adepts, and having to choose between adept metamagics and mage metamagics. With this reading, it's on the thin line between "broken" and "decent alternative to mages". I'll update once the errata is out. –  Cristol.GdM Jul 20 '13 at 13:49
    
10-12 karma (actually 20-24 when viewed as qualities) tends to become fairly irrelevant over the course of a long campaign. Currently looks as if it will rise to 5 karma per point in the errata. –  Joe Jul 20 '13 at 14:08
    
Accepted as this seems to be the RAW –  Joe Jul 24 '13 at 8:01
1  
@Joe I will update anyway as far as I find a definite answer to "Can they spend extra karma for magic points for which they did not buy power points during character creation?", which is quite important in my opinion –  Cristol.GdM Jul 24 '13 at 14:17

You gain a power point every time you increase your magic attribute

You get a free Power Point whenever you increase your Magic attribute, and you can gain a Power Point through Initiation (p. 324) instead of gaining a metamagic. - p. 279 SR5 Core

You can also gain power points as part of initiation

Power Point (Adepts Only): If you’re an adept, you gain a Power Point instead of a metamagic. You can take this as many times as you like. - p. 326 SR5 Core

share|improve this answer
1  
The second one is actually part of what makes it unclear, because in the context of character creation "Adept" and "Mystic Adept" are two very different things. Therefore "Adepts only" seems to indicate that it applies only to regular adepts, not to mystic adepts. –  Joe Jul 22 '13 at 14:49
    
Mystic adepts are mentioned in the same context as adepts in regards for increasing their power points using Initiation. Therefor they are adepts when it comes to adepts only. Adepts and mystic adepts are "adepts only" and magician and aspected magicians are "magicians". –  MrJinPengyou Jul 22 '13 at 20:56

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.