Take the 2-minute tour ×
Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

The PRD entry for environment states:

Transparent Floor: Transparent floors, made of reinforced glass or magic materials (even a wall of force) [...]

The PRD entry for Wall of Force states:

The caster can form the wall into a flat, vertical plane whose area is up to one 10-foot square per level. The wall must be continuous and unbroken when formed. If its surface is broken by any object or creature, the spell fails.

If interpreting RAW for the entire ruleset, is there any way a can PC caster create bridges/umbrellas/ramps using this spell? Or is there a different spell for planes of force at other angles?

share|improve this question

1 Answer 1

up vote 15 down vote accepted

RAW, no. The spell specifically says 'vertical' so unless your 'floor' is a wall, you cannot use it as a bridge.

Look at the wording for 'wall of iron': http://www.d20pfsrd.com/magic/all-spells/w/wall-of-iron

You cause a flat, vertical iron wall to spring into being.

And now look at 'wall of stone': http://www.d20pfsrd.com/magic/all-spells/w/wall-of-stone

Unlike a wall of iron, you can create a wall of stone in almost any shape you desire. The wall created need not be vertical, nor rest upon any firm foundation;

share|improve this answer
    
I know at the least that in Dungeons & Dragons this was an intentional limitation of the spell, which was sometimes commented upon in magazine articles and the like. –  KRyan Jul 22 '13 at 14:35
    
Taking up the whole 10-foot square and being "flat" seems contradictory to me... –  Izkata Jul 22 '13 at 17:56
1  
@izkata I think we both misread different parts of it. You're right in that it's flat like paper. But it doesn't take up 10'x10' on the battle grid. It takes up 10'x0'x10'... I.e., it is a vertical plane of depth 0', height 10', and width 10'. You'd draw it on the map as a line. –  AceCalhoon Jul 22 '13 at 20:04
6  
Presumably, some wizard developed a "floor of force" spell that he thought would take off, but as it never quite got off the ground, he ended up working at his cousin's dungeon renovation company. –  GMJoe Jul 23 '13 at 2:14
2  
RAW, no. I've always house-ruled a "yes", though, simply because one of the first campaigns I ever DM'd, I wanted to use one cast thus and permanentized as a plot device, and I've since found them handy to have available, and never found any particular problem with allowing them. –  Matthew Najmon Sep 18 '13 at 22:58

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.