Take the 2-minute tour ×
Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

I'm running a published adventure that includes a male human terkow rogue as a monster. His melee attack stat is: 3 claws +17 (1d6+4/19-20 plus grab). His Special Attacks stats include blood drain and energy drain (2 levels, DC 19). However, no rules are provided in the adventure to indicate when the monster can use blood drain and energy drain.

Is the notion that I can make an energy drain attack using a melee attack, but instead of physical damage, I drain 2 levels from the PC? Am I supposed to assume that blood drain and energy drain just use a base attack bonus for their attack?

share|improve this question
1  
The terkow template has an entry for each ability, which describe how they work. (e.g., it is very clear that a blood drain is not a melee attack roll, so bonuses don't matter.) Does what you're reading lack this basic information? –  SevenSidedDie Jul 27 '13 at 23:09
    
Yes, it does lack it. It's a pathfinder adventure that has a single monster using the template. I searched online but only found the D&D version. Also, assuming it was you, can you explain why you down-voted the question? –  Craig Jul 28 '13 at 1:15
1  
The tooltip on the downvote button says: "This question does not show any research effort; it is unclear or not useful." Whoever downvoted this probably did it for the first part of that statement. –  Jonathan Hobbs Jul 28 '13 at 1:26
2  
It was the unclear part, actually. It didn't say that this was a published adventure that used the monster, but was unusefully missing information on how the monster works. I edited that in and removed the vote! –  SevenSidedDie Jul 28 '13 at 2:12
    
@SevenSidedDie: Gotcha; I'll try to be more clear in the future. And I appreciate you removing the downvote. –  Craig Jul 28 '13 at 2:22
add comment

1 Answer

up vote 1 down vote accepted

Typically, special attacks are standard actions, with no limits on uses. As such, the normal rules for Energy and Blood Drain apply.

Blood Drain reads:

The creature drains blood at the end of its turn if it grapples a foe, inflicting Constitution damage.

which means the creature must be grappled, and that Blood Drain is not a standard action. Energy Drain doesn't have a description for this, but reads:

Location: Special Attacks and individual attacks

which would imply that you can use it like you would an attack move. The wording of the source implies this to be true. Looking into this answer, though, it seems like Energy Drain is played in whatever way makes the most sense. The special ability is a versatile one. In this case, it's your call. I'd probably stick to a grapple or touch attack.

If these conditions met for the attack, then the creature can use the special abilities as a standard action.

Primary source: Universal Monster Rules. Secondary source: My typical Pathfinder GM.

share|improve this answer
    
I looked up Pathfinder's Vampire monster and found this description for Energy Drain: A creature hit by a vampire's slam (or other natural weapon) gains two negative levels. This ability only triggers once per round, regardless of the number of attacks a vampire makes. As this monster only has claw attacks, I'd probably have the first one use the Energy Drain as part of its damage. –  Craig Jul 28 '13 at 17:59
    
And for Blood Drain, a vampire must grapple and establish, or maintain, a pin for blood drain to occur, dealing 1d4 Constitution damage. –  Craig Jul 28 '13 at 18:00
    
Makes sense. That's certainly one way to do it. –  Emracool Jul 28 '13 at 18:03
add comment

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.