Take the 2-minute tour ×
Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

I was wondering if an enemy who attacks me with a melee attack takes damage from both Guardian Blades and Fire Shield, or just one of the two? Can either/both be combined with the errata-ed Infernal Wrath power? Thanks again.

share|improve this question
    
@JohnW Please remember to tag your questions with the system you're asking about, e.g. dnd-4e if you're playing that. :) –  doppelgreener Jul 29 '13 at 22:53

1 Answer 1

I see no reason why you could not combine all three of these powers against an adjacent enemy. You would have to have triggered Guardian Blades and Fire Shield prior to the attacks, and they are both minor Daily powers. Infernal Wrath is an encounter power, so can only trigger once.

Also, bear in mind that the triggers for each power are slightly different - Infernal Wrath triggers when an enemy hits you, Fire Shield triggers when an enemy makes a melee attack roll against you, and Guardian Blades triggers when an adjacent enemy makes an attack roll. So, if an enemy adjacent to you made a ranged attack against an ally, you would only get to trigger Guardian Blades. If an enemy made a close blast attack against you from one square away (i.e. adjacent) and hit you, you could Infernal Wrath and Guardian Blades only. To get all three, and adjacent enemy would need to hit you with a melee attack.

share|improve this answer
    
Exactly. I plan to activate both at the start of battle. The combined effects would happen when they hit me with a melee attack while adjacent to me. Inferal Wrath would be adding insult to injury, even if it is only once per battle. :) –  John W Jul 30 '13 at 14:17

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.