Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

The move element of Dragon's Tail is:

  • Move : Swap places with target

Duergar have Stand your Ground:

  • Stand Your Ground: When an effect forces you to move — through a pull, a push, or a slide — you can move 1 square less than the effect specifies. This means an effect that normally pulls, pushes, or slides a target 1 square does not force you to move unless you want to.

I contend that the 'swap' is not a pull, push or slide and therefore SYG does not apply as a defense against it.

Does it?

share|improve this question
up vote 10 down vote accepted

YES, you can resist being swapped

Although the power merely says "swap places", the Rules Compendium clearly details what a "swap" means:

Slide: Sliding a target can move it in any direction. Sometimes a creature can swap places with a target. Doing so is a special kind of slide; the creature slides the target into its space and then shifts so that its space includes at least 1 square that the target just left.

Thus, a swap IS a slide, and the Dwarf or Duergar can reduce the slide by 1, making themselves unswappable.

share|improve this answer
wow, good catch. – wax eagle Aug 1 '13 at 1:39
Yeah, that's pretty amazing. – medivh Aug 3 '13 at 17:02

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.