Take the 2-minute tour ×
Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

One of the players in our campaign has a 6th level Favored Soul. They have selected Versatile Spellcaster as their next feat; it reads:

You can use two spell slots of the same level to cast a spell you know that is one level higher. For example, a sorcerer with this feat can expend two 2nd-level spell slots to cast any 3rd-level spell [they know]. -- source

Does this effect chain? In other words, could the Favored Soul expend:

((Lv0 + Lv0 -> Lv1) + Lv1 -> Lv2) + Lv2 -> Lv3

to gain a level 3 spell? It would expend two level 0, one level 1, and one level 2, but would be extremely powerful at higher levels.

How does this work, and is this an acceptable use of Versatile Spellcaster? If so, are there any balance concerns to be aware of?

share|improve this question
add comment

1 Answer 1

up vote 15 down vote accepted

No, Versatile Spellcaster does not "chain" in this way.

There is not much in the way of rules text for this feat, but part of it is that the character uses two spell slots to cast a spell.

The thing that makes chaining impossible is that there is a difference between having a spell slot and casting a spell. Versatile Spellcaster only grants the latter, not a spell slot that can be used to fuel another use of the feat.

There are quite a few interesting and supremely powerful things this feat can do, but chaining is not one of them.

share|improve this answer
add comment

protected by C. Ross Mar 8 at 16:06

Thank you for your interest in this question. Because it has attracted low-quality answers, posting an answer now requires 10 reputation on this site.

Would you like to answer one of these unanswered questions instead?

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.