Take the 2-minute tour ×
Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

The playtest notes are not clear in regard to clerics. It specifically states how many spells wizards can learn. So do I just assume that a cleric learns one spell per level or do they have access to every cleric spell of their acquired spell level?

share|improve this question

1 Answer 1

You decide which cleric spells are available to you to cast. Whenever you complete a long rest, you prepare the list of cleric spells that you can cast of 1st level or higher, choosing from the list of spells available to all clerics (see the “Spells” document).

You decide which mage spells are available to you to cast each day. After completing a long rest, you can prepare the list of mage spells that you will be able to cast in the coming day, choosing from the spells of 1st level or higher in your spellbook.

Emphasis mine. There is nothing in the Cleric description saying your list of spells is limited in any way, so I don't think we should assume it is.

share|improve this answer
3  
If we take into account that in DDN they try to go old school and that except for the 4th edition, cleric always had access to all spells made available to them from their god (Ex : God of live wouldn't allow Animate Undead). I think it's a fair assumption –  Groumy Aug 30 '13 at 19:05

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.