Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

Characters with the Martial Artist edge are not considered unarmed, which means that other armed characters do not get a +2 on their Fighting roll as per the Unarmed Defender rule (SWD, p76).

However, are they considered armed so that they do get that +2 bonus against other unarmed characters? Neither the Martial Artist nor the Improved Martial Artist (SWD, p36) make any mention about this.

share|improve this question


Although it is not clear in the Savage World Deluxe writing, it was confirmed by Clint on the official forums:

[the rules say...] "He is never considered unarmed in combat" which therefore would mean the opposite, that he is considered armed is true. So yeah, he would get the bonus.

share|improve this answer
Good self answer. – C. Ross Aug 14 '13 at 14:43

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.