Take the 2-minute tour ×
Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

While building a character for the newest season of encounters (Blackguard) I decided to take the Sentinel Marshal Theme. As part of the entry package for the theme you receive the Marshall's interdiction encounter power. In that power it states that:

Effect: The target is immobilized until the end of your next turn. You also mark the target until you end your turn without hitting or missing it with an attack. In addition, you designate the enemy as your marshal’s quarry until the end of the encounter. -via Compendium (Dragon # 407)

However, Marshal's Quarry isn't listed anywhere in the compendium or described in the original Dragon article beyond reference the Marshal's interdiction power referencing it. I assume it works similarly to the Hunter's Quarry power of the Ranger class, but if anyone had any sort of errata, faqs, or just anything from the designers/publishers clarifying it I would appreciate it.

share|improve this question
add comment

1 Answer

up vote 6 down vote accepted

The Marshal's Quarry is just an extra status effect. This power does three things:

  • Immobilizes the target til the end of your next turn.
  • Marks the target until you stop attacking it
  • Designates it as your Marshal's Quarry.

Marshall's Quarry has little effect unless you take the utility powers associated with the theme. Much like the Ranger's "Hunter's Quarry" it designates the target as a pursuit target. The utility power benefits specific to the mechanic are as follows:

  • L2: shift a square closer to your quarry as free action(+2 speed, +2 def vs OAs all the time)
  • L6: get some temp HP if you hit your quarry (defense bonus with any hit)
  • L10: regain power when you kill your quarry (free healing and save you get with any kill you use this on).

The only other mechanic that is related to this is that at L10 you get a +2 to saves against status effects applied by your quarry. But that's it, so these four things are all this effect does.

share|improve this answer
1  
Thanks for the confirmation, on the marshal's quarry not having any other effect wax! –  Joshua Aslan Smith Aug 16 '13 at 19:42
add comment

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.