Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

A shaken character that is shaken again takes a wound (extras are just taken out) as long as the second shaken result comes from a physical attack of some kind (not a Test of Wills or other maneuver).

When a character grapples another character with a raise, the defender is shaken. As this is a physical attack, can this produce a wound?

share|improve this question


The rule says (SWD, p73):

Grappling is an opposed Fighting roll that causes no damage. If the attacker wins, he’s entangled his foe. With a raise, his foe is also Shaken.

Of course, the attacker may attempt to damage their victim in subsequent rounds as long as the defender is still grappled/entangled.

share|improve this answer

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.