Take the 2-minute tour ×
Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

For a Giant Flytrap in Pathfinder, the rules text indicates: "If a giant flytrap begins its turn with an opponent at least two size categories smaller than itself grappled..., it can close its jaws completely around the foe...". Does that mean it can engulf medium creatures, or it can't?

Note that I read through this message board post, which indicates it can't. However, I disagree since I interpret "at least two size categories smaller than itself" to be smaller than or equal to medium, as opposed to smaller than medium.

share|improve this question
1  
If a random internet person in a forum thread contradicts your own good sense, don't listen to the random internet person. –  SevenSidedDie Sep 2 '13 at 22:31

1 Answer 1

up vote 8 down vote accepted

The flytrap is size Huge, so it can engulf Medium creatures.

A large creature is one size smaller. A medium creature is two sizes smaller. Therefore, a medium creature is "at least two sizes smaller".

I don't see anything that even contradicts this in the linked thread, which is mostly about Grab and not Engulf. If you still have qualms, could you point to the specific post that made you think this?

share|improve this answer
2  
The thread contains a statement that it can grab opponents two sizes smaller, instead of the default one size smaller, and then they parenthetically say "(< Medium)". But then later they say "so they can grab medium creatures". They're just writing comparison notation wrong in the thread. –  SevenSidedDie Sep 2 '13 at 22:30
    
@starwed: I just wanted to double check that my interpretation was correct. –  Craig Sep 2 '13 at 22:42

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.