Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

I was wondering if it was possible to chain the effect of Wizard's Fury's power on following turns (after the turn I activate it) with other attack spells for a secondary attack each turn, seeing as how the use of Magic Missile through Wizard's Fury counts as a Minor Action.

For example, I cast Wizard's Fury on my opening turn, then on my next turn, I use a power like Acid Arrow as my standard action, then as part of the same turn, use Magic Missile by way of Wizard's Fury's ongoing effect as a Minor Action.

In two related questions, can I use the effect of Wizard's Fury the same turn I cast it to get off an attack on the same turn, and If I cast Magic Missile normally, can I use Wizard's Fury's ongoing effect to cast a second MM during the same turn?

Thanks in advance. :)

share|improve this question

Yes on both questions.

"Casting" Wizards' FuryDDI is a minor action. Once cast (that means: since the same round you activated Wizard's Fury), you can use a minor action to cast Magic Missile.

This quick cast is limited to once per turn, but you can also spend a standard action and cast Magic Missile normally.

So, these chain of actions is perfectly legal.

Round 1
Minor action: Wizard's Fury.
Minor action: Magic Missile (from WF).
Standard action: Freezing Cloud.

Round 2
Minor action: Magic Missile (from WF).
Standard action: Magic Missile (normal At-Will attack).
Minor action: Sustain the Freezing Cloud.

share|improve this answer
Devastating chain of powers, but note lack of movement though :-). Generally Wizards Fury sits alongside similar Daily powers that are intended to give you an encounter-long upgrade. It is intended to be used in this way, and is in no way excessive to do so when compared to equivalent powers. – Neil Slater Sep 3 '13 at 12:42
Thanks again, now all I need is another Level and a half to get Melf's Minute Meteors for triple-attack goodness (At least I think you can use both with regular Standard Action attack powers). :) – John W Sep 3 '13 at 14:05
Yes, you can. Being both the meteor and the magic missile provided by Wizard's Fury minor actions to be launched. ^_^ – Erik Burigo Sep 3 '13 at 14:08

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.