Take the 2-minute tour ×
Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

I know that Tieflings and Aasimar can mate and have offspring with Gnomes. I know that most races native to Golarian (human, elf, dwarf, etc.) can't. Purely for flavor, I'm creating a Gnome academic of some standing who has -- for the novelty and to further her learning -- sought out partners of as many races as possible and had children by them. I'm imagining a large family with siblings who're half gnome and half (devil, demon, azata, garuda, djinn, efreet, etc.)

So...what races do we know can(n't) mix successfully with gnomes?

share|improve this question
Some information that blew my mind on how speciation could be affected within compatible races. pandasthumb.org/archives/2013/06/do-the-creation.html –  Nat Sep 10 '13 at 23:57
It does mostly concern shooting down creationism, but by itself that description is knowledge great for your conundrum. –  Nat Sep 10 '13 at 23:58
add comment

1 Answer

The likelihood of having a large gnome family who have siblings who all have a half-something template is astronomically small. Any such family would be considered cursed and would most likely be shunned by other gnomes.

Just because an outsider breeds with a gnome doesn't mean their child will have the half-outsider template. In fact the chances of them gaining it are very small. It's much more likely (although the chance of getting the mutation is the same, as you go through the generations the chance of the mutation appearing increases) that a grandchild or great-grandchild will inherit the mutation.

As for your question, the rules (as far as I can tell) have no limits on who gnomes can breed with, so in theory you could have one of everything that can breed with humanoids.

share|improve this answer
mxyzplk, thanks for the info. @Styphon, I believe strongly that you're reading more into that sentence than it says, but (since this is a tangent to my original question at any rate) I've forked a different question to examine this: rpg.stackexchange.com/questions/28663/… –  Jeff Fry Sep 10 '13 at 18:02
add comment

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.