Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

As per this question, permanent increases to Intelligence retroactively grant new skill points in Pathfinder.

If I lose my Intelligence bonus, is there a rule for which skill I lose first? Can I technically retrain my skills by wearing an Intelligence bonus item for a few days, adding a new skill, then discard a different skill when I remove the item?

share|improve this question
up vote 10 down vote accepted

And lo the book says

Permanent Bonuses: Ability bonuses with a duration greater than 1 day actually increase the relevant ability score after 24 hours. Modify all skills and statistics related to that ability. This might cause you to gain skill points, hit points, and other bonuses. These bonuses should be noted separately in case they are removed.

And thus the question is answered. Except for losing a permanent bonus, true reduction in a stat is super unusual - damage/drain don't really lose the points.

share|improve this answer

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.