Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

I'm trying to better understand Harmonious Academic Methodology (a Lore charm).

It can be used to train others, but the rules states that the lawgivers can also train himself.

So can a character with HAM train himself up to 4 dot in the allowed abilities spending 1 week of training for dot without using XP?

share|improve this question
up vote 12 down vote accepted

Not without using XP

From the same wiki, description of the Training Charm-keyword :

though they may award competence quickly and easily, the character must still pay for what they have gained.

share|improve this answer
Keyword are tricky, you always think to remember what they means... thank you. – nolith Sep 19 '13 at 13:53
Ignoring the rules-as-written tag for a second,we house ruled this that PCs (and NPCs we tracked experience with) that benefited from training charms could go into experience debt, and that half of the XP that they gained moving forward would go to pay off whatever they gained through training charms. One couldn't be the target of a training charm if one was currently carrying experience debt. It worked very well. – jwrush Sep 19 '13 at 14:32
@jwrush, That's not a house rule. That's how Training Charms work. – Brian S Dec 26 '13 at 22:59
@BrianS - I suspected as much, but I didn't want to say so without checking my book (and 2.5), and I never got around to it. That's good to know. – jwrush Jan 3 '14 at 14:30

From the HAM page you linked: "She can train them"... "or up to her own own ratings, whichever is lower" (emphasis mine). Any point she might try to gain would always be raising her rating to a level she doesn't already have it up to, and therefore would always be beyond the ability of HAM.

share|improve this answer

All effects in Exalted with the Training keyword require that the recipient(s) expend the appropriate amount of XP. If the target doesn't have enough XP, they go into XP debt. When a character with XP debt gains XP, half of the gained XP is spent buying off the debt. A character with XP debt cannot be the target of a training effect.

Thus, while you can use training effects to get around some of the more laborious training times, you can't use them to get around the associated XP costs.

share|improve this answer

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.