I renamed this question because I didn't estimate the problem correctly, which actually seems to be localized to assisted healing. The old title was "How do I restrain Inspiring Leadership".
(Strands of Fate has a different System tracking stress and consequences than most FATE games; the page numbers are taken from Strands of Fate (SoF) second printing and Strands of Power (SoP).)
So I ran a Strands of Fate game, and am already in need of advice.
One of our players wanted to play a bardish character, the other one a cleric-type character.
Clerics (People who purchase the Cleric Powers package from SoP 179 and work divine miracles) get their "magic" from FP, as I understand; they are not limited in their applications of miracles in other ways (SoP 281).
Our bard picked Inspiring Leadership (SoP 19; if the quote is not fair use, please revert):
You have a gift for getting your friends back on their feet, dusting them off, and putting them back into the fight. You are a natural leader and an inspiration to those around you.
Spend a Fate Point. You are granted a number of Fate Points equal to your Persuasion to freely distribute to PC or NPC allies who can hear your commands or words of encouragement. This is a free action, and these extra Fate Points must be spent during this scene or be wasted.
Your Allies may not later give these Fate Points away or trade them using other advantages.
From its wording, you can do this as many times as the character has FP. The FP have to be used in this scene or be lost. Note that it does not forbid using the FP for powers, it just forbids trading them using powers. Our Bard has a Persuasion of 4.
The divine "Cure" miracle instantly degrades a consequence (SoP 284); its description does not restrict this in any way.
Do I understand the rules correctly in the following points:
- A character with IL can activate the IL as many times as they have FP (SoP 19)
- A character with Cure can therefore use cure as many times as they have FP and as many times as the IL player has FP times four
- Cure degrades ANY consequence of ANY severity, instantly (SoP 284)
- Therefore, a character with long-term physical consequences like Defeated(P) is instantly brought back to full health (SoF 237, consequences degraded into a slot already having a consequence in it degrade that consequence as well)
- So is his whole party, in fact. The FP usually suffice to do this four to five times per character. No, they didn't hog them.
- A GM can never ever endanger a party playing that combination
How am I going to address that situation in the future? Is this a hole in the rules? Do I misread these examples?
Should I just forbid Inspiring Leadership? Should I reword it to only allow the FP to be spent for aspects, not powers?