Take the 2-minute tour ×
Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

I have Resource B3, with 2 dice of tax from previous failed rolls.

I fail another test. Let's say it's Routine. Now the tax has reduced my Resources to 0. According to the book, I permanent lose a die of Resources, bringing me to B2. I can't find anything in the book specifying what happens to the tax dice, though.

  • Do my tax dice go away, or am I now at B2 (taxed to B0)?
  • If I fail another Resources test while already taxed to B0 (using cash to make the test at all, presumably), will my Resources immediately fall to B1?
share|improve this question
add comment

1 Answer

up vote 3 down vote accepted

You must Get a Job to recover taxed dice. BWG doesn't mention any other way to recover Resources. You're now B2 with 2 taxed dice, with an effective Resources of B0.

Unlike the body, Resources don't recover on their own. They must be actively replenished (BWG 372).

That the number of taxed dice decreases when your Resources are depleted is both common sense and analogous to:

If you're taxed and you advance, increase your maximum exponent and taxed exponent by one (BWG 373).

If you fail a Resources test with B2 and 2 taxed dice (getting help, etc., because you can't roll zero dice), your Resources will deplete to B1. Better hope that job pays off before you have to make another Resources test! Low exponent Resources is brutal, so find help, use loans, and get cash from treasure and rewards.

share|improve this answer
    
Can you back this up with a citation from BWG, AdBu, or the forums? –  Alex P Oct 16 '13 at 2:32
    
@AlexP You're treating "tax dice" like they're a separate, but that's not actually what the book says. It says your Resource dice are themselves taxed. The taxed dice are the same dice as your Resource dice, not other "negative" dice. So you have R3 and that gives you three dice: d6, d6, d6. Now you have two taxed, and you have these dice: d6, d6 (taxed, can't use it), d6 (taxed, can't use it). To recover (untax) your dice you get a job. But if you go from R3 to R2, you lose a die; i.e., d6 (taxed), d6 (taxed), d6 (taxed) becomes: d6 (taxed), d6 (taxed) because you lost one. –  SevenSidedDie Oct 16 '13 at 2:59
    
@SevenSidedDie I've changed the terminology of my question a bit to fit your description better. –  Alex P Oct 16 '13 at 3:32
    
@AlexP Does that difference clear up your trouble with okeefe's answer, though? –  SevenSidedDie Oct 16 '13 at 3:53
add comment

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.