Take the 2-minute tour ×
Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

I have a question about the wording in the Adventurers vault where it talks about enchanting items,

The ritual caster must still be high enough level to create the final item...

The level it refers to, is that the players actual level or something else? And does that mean the item level cannot exceed that level?

share|improve this question
    
Note Well: only common items may be enchanted these days. –  Brian Ballsun-Stanton Oct 16 '13 at 22:59
add comment

1 Answer

up vote 9 down vote accepted

The General Rule is you can only enchant items up to your current level...

From the Enchant Item ritual description:

The new version must be your level or lower, and the component cost equals the difference in gold piece value between the old version and the new. -Players Handbook, p.304

Exceptions exist however...

The Artificer Class is all about making items and making them better/faster/cheaper than any other class.

For example, the Master Crafter Feat:

When you use the Enchant Magic Item ritual to create a magic item, you can create a magic item of your level + your Intelligence modifier or lower.

And Mark of Making [Dragonmark]

Benefit: You have mastered the Enchant Magic Item ritual and can perform it as if you were two levels higher.

Kudos to BrianS for the dragonmark suggestion.

share|improve this answer
1  
I believe one of the Dragonmarks in the Eberron Player's Guide also lets you add +2 to your level for the purpose of enchanting/alchemy. –  Brian S Nov 6 '13 at 16:04
    
@BrianS will double-check via the compendium. –  Joshua Aslan Smith Nov 6 '13 at 16:32
add comment

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.