Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

I keep seeing references to "Core" D&D3.5e (as opposed to the SRD), but I'm not sure which books are included. I know the Player's Handbook (PHB), Dungeon Master's Guide (DMG) and Monster Manual (MM) are part of "Core", but what about the PHBII, DMG2, MM2&3, etc.? Are they considered "Core"?

share|improve this question

If you look at the covers of the Player's Handbook (I), Dungeon Master's Guide (I), and Monster Manual (I), they say Core Rulebook I, II, and III, respectively. These are the Core rulebooks; everything else is supplemental.

share|improve this answer
Worth noting that a lot of people treat all of the System Resource Document as core, even though it includes material from the Epic Level Handbook, Expanded Psionics Handbook, Deities and Demigods, and Unearthed Arcana which are not actually a part of the original Core. helpfully does put all the Core-derived material under a column titled Core Rules, while putting the rest in a second column with their own headings. – KRyan Oct 27 '13 at 20:03
+1, "it's what it says on the tin" – mxyzplk Oct 28 '13 at 2:15

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.