Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

Spiritual Weapon creates a weapon made of force that can automatically attack creatures at a distance. Normally swarms made up of diminutive creatures, such as wasps, are immune to weapon damage.

Is a swarm of wasps immune to the magic weapon created by the Spiritual Weapon spell?

share|improve this question
up vote 5 down vote accepted

Spiritual Weapon says that it's considered a magic attack:

It strikes as a spell, not as a weapon, so for example, it can damage creatures that have damage reduction.

Swarms say this about being attacked by spells:

A swarm is immune to any spell or effect that targets a specific number of creatures (including single-target spells such as disintegrate),

So by RAW, Spiritual Weapon can't hit a swarm of any size, not just diminutive ones.

share|improve this answer
You seem to be right, but why is it that Spiritual Weapon says "foes" without specific number of creates, and disintegrate itself does not say single-target but in fact produces a ray that can effect a number of creatures, and yet it is supposed to have no effect on a swarm? I'm having trouble figuring out, then, what in Pathfinder can effect a swarm other than something that explicitly says it can, or area-of-effect spells? Perhaps some more on what effects swarms would be helpful here. – BrianDHall Nov 1 '13 at 18:46
Each attack from the weapon hits one creature, like a weapon attack. It can get multiple attacks at higher levels, so it doesn't specify a number explicitly. As for Disintegrate, it only hits one target: "Only the first creature or object struck can be affected; that is, the ray affects only one target per casting.." Anything that hits a square or an area generally can. Anything that hits a finite number of targets can't (except for the stuff that can, see the swarm description). They're kind of a pain to fight. – Tridus Nov 1 '13 at 19:00
Wow, I totally missed the last line of disintegrate, and that makes sense. I would have thought SW would have effected a swarm, but your logic appears undeniable. +1 – BrianDHall Nov 2 '13 at 2:34

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.