Take the 2-minute tour ×
Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

Let's say an enemy would hit an ally with an attack roll of 20, And a swordmage uses Dimensional Vortex to relocate him and make the target use it's attack on a different target. Will the initial attack roll of 20 carry over to the new target or does the enemy make a new roll for that attack?

share|improve this question
add comment

2 Answers 2

up vote 2 down vote accepted

From Arcane Power, p53:

Trigger: An enemy hits an ally with a melee attack.
...
Hit: You teleport the target 5 squares. The target then makes its melee attack against a creature you choose. If no creatures are within range of the target, the attack is expended.

It's certainly ambiguously phrased, but I think the key here is actually the trigger. Dimensional Vortex is triggered by the attack hitting an ally, so the attack roll is already established. Therefore, when you change the target of the attack with Dimensional Vortex, the enemy's attack roll doesn't change, because you're already past the point of rolling the attack and have moved on to determining the effects of the attack.

share|improve this answer
1  
Especially since the text says "The target then makes its melee attack" and not "melee attack roll". –  Ravn Nov 10 '13 at 16:40
    
The answer is wrong, see Rules Compendium page 214. "Making an attack" contains making an attack ROLL. –  András Nov 11 '13 at 15:27
add comment

The target makes a new attack roll.

Hit: You teleport the target 5 squares. The target then makes its melee attack against a creature you choose. If no creatures are within range of the target, the attack is expended.

Making a melee attack involves making an attack roll unless otherwise noted. Compare to the wording of Guardian's Counter:

Effect: You and the ally shift up to 2 squares as a free action, swapping positions. You become the target of the triggering attack, in place of the ally. After the attack is resolved, you can make a basic attack against the attacker.

Also it is worth noting that the target will always have someone to attack after the teleport, itself.

share|improve this answer
add comment

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.