Take the 2-minute tour ×
Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

The Cooperative Crafting provides a +2 circumstance bonus when two people with this feat work together.

Benefit: You can assist another character in crafting mundane and magical items. You must both possess the relevant Craft skill or item creation feat, but either one of you can fulfill any other prerequisites for crafting the item. You provide a +2 circumstance bonus on any Craft or Spellcraft checks related to making an item, and your assistance doubles the gp value of items that can be crafted each day.

One can also Aid Another:

You can help someone achieve success on a skill check by making the same kind of skill check in a cooperative effort. If you roll a 10 or higher on your check, the character you're helping gets a +2 bonus on his or her check. (You can't take 10 on a skill check to aid another.) In many cases, a character's help won't be beneficial, or only a limited number of characters can help at once.

Since a DC 10 is easy to pull off (even at level 1, with Skill Focus and crafting being a class skill for (almost ?) every class), what are the advantages of Cooperative Crafting ?

  1. Do its bonus stack with Aid Another's not-circumstancial bonus ?
  2. What does mean "your assistance doubles the gp value of items that can be crafted each day" ? Do you craft twice faster (thanks to a very twisted way of reading "double the gp value you can craft each day") ?

A bit of context and remarkable and divergent related answers to my other question, especially MACN's

share|improve this question
    
By all mean NOT an official source, but you can have a thread in paizo forums just here. You can find a more detailed explanation on the "twice-the-fast" interpretation in this post, which I agree with. –  MACN Nov 15 '13 at 15:07

2 Answers 2

up vote 7 down vote accepted

Do its bonus stack with Aid Another's not-circumstancial bonus ?

Yes. They are bonuses of different types, and therefore stack. Untyped bonuses always stack with all sorts of typed bonuses, and also with most other sorts of untyped bonuses (the exception being that a bonus will not usually stack with itself if you would be entitled to it more than once, even if the bonus is untyped; this is known as the Same Source limitation). They could have made it an exception if they wanted by explicitly saying it does not stack with Aid Another, but that would be pointless. Thus someone using Aid Another while having the feat effectively doubles the bonus that they offer.

What does mean "your assistance doubles the gp value of items that can be crafted each day” ? Do you craft twice faster (thanks to a very twister way of reading "double the gp value you can craft each day") ?

That’s precisely what it means. Actually, you craft a little more than twice faster because you are hitting a higher DC thanks to the feat’s +2 circumstance bonus, but that particular line doubles your speed compared to if that line was not there. Your progress on any crafted item is measured in silver; when the silver value of your work crafting the item is equal to the value of the item in silver, you are done. If your crafting checks produce twice as much silvers’ worth of progress, then you will meet the item’s value in half the time.

Why is Cooperative Crafting a feat?

A good question; to my mind it’s not very good design. Aid Another was already sufficient, I think, to model someone helping you out. If anything, I would have made this sort of bonus contingent on hitting higher DCs with your Aid Another roll (since, as you say, DC 10 is remarkably easy to hit), and for having both people have the relevant feat. This seems like an unnecessary feat tax to me, even if the effect is reasonably good.

On the other hand, I’m not too familiar with Pathfinder’s options in this regard, but if there are enough effects out there that stack and reduce crafting times or crafting costs, that can lead to very overpowered characters if they can get them all (see 3.5’s Artificer). Which makes me leery of an effect that doubles crafting speed, particularly when you don’t need to take the feat yourself; a cohort could take it, you could hire an NPC who has it, or whatever. Alone, this feat is fairly week. In combination with other, similar feats, it might be overpowered. Which again would just lead me to wanting to have a lesser effect, achieved just by hitting higher DCs than 10 on Aid Another.

share|improve this answer
1  
One minor improvement with the feat over Aid Another, though I don't know how often it comes up in Pathfinder is this line - "either one of you can fulfill any other prerequisites for crafting the item.". This means if there are two potential crafters, one who has a better crafting check and another who has a requisite but a worse check, with just Aid Another the lead would have to be the latter with the former only granting +2, while with the feat the better crafter can lead despite lacking the requisite that the weaker crafter can cover (and still give +2 or +4). –  Lunin Nov 17 '13 at 4:32
    
@Lunin In 3.5, that sort of cooperation was the default; you didn’t need a feat for it. And I don’t think it should have been a thing that needed a feat. So... –  KRyan Nov 17 '13 at 6:18
    
@KRyan It's the default in Pathfinder too, so that line in the feat is pretty much just a very poorly worded reminder text. –  Matthew Najmon Nov 17 '13 at 19:12
    
@KRyan About your line "this is known as the Same Source limitation": say you have two people helping you with Cooperative crafting, what is the source ? Is it the feat, so you gain a +2 bonus, or are they the people helping, so you get +4 ? –  Trajan Nov 18 '13 at 11:38
1  
@Constablebrew True, but you only need +9, not +20. The DC for Aid Another is 10, and at a minimum you roll a 1 (and nat-1s on skill checks are not automatically failures), so 1+9=10. –  KRyan Dec 19 '13 at 20:54

What does mean "your assistance doubles the gp value of items that can be crafted each day" ? Do you craft twice faster (thanks to a very twisted way of reading "double the gp value you can craft each day") ?

Actually, this is a tie into this line from Magic Item Creation:

Creating an item requires 8 hours of work per 1,000 gp in the item's base price (or fraction thereof), with a minimum of at least 8 hours. Potions and scrolls are an exception to this rule; they can take as little as 2 hours to create (if their base price is 250 gp or less). Scrolls and potions whose base price is more than 250 gp, but less than 1,000 gp, take 8 hours to create, just like any other magic item. The character must spend the gold at the beginning of the construction process. Regardless of the time needed for construction, a caster can create no more than one magic item per day. This process can be accelerated to 4 hours of work per 1,000 gp in the item's base price (or fraction thereof) by increasing the DC to create the item by 5.

And the following line:

The caster can work for up to 8 hours each day.

Meaning that Cooperative Crafting allows one to craft an item of 1,000+ GP in half the time, with two characters working on it. Sadly, it doesn't give a ruling on multiple characters (For example., two plus the original crafter) with CC working in concert and what that would do.

share|improve this answer

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.