Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

When using the Magus Spellstrike ability, which happens first, the spell or the weapon damage?

share|improve this question
up vote 8 down vote accepted

As far as I know, it is not specified, which means it's up to your gamemaster to decide. In most cases it won't matter: the victim will take both the weapon damage and the spell effect. So the only way it could matter is if the spell effect somehow depends on the target's hit points. That's pretty unusual: I suppose you must be thinking of casting Vampiric Touch (that is the ONLY Magus spell I could think of where it would matter). For what it's worth, I would allow the drain to happen first, then the weapon damage, but it's not in the rules so it's your GM's call.

share|improve this answer

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.