Take the 2-minute tour ×
Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

I understand that you only get your bonus offhand attack (or multiples with improved/greater feats) when using a full round attack. So my question is, if you're just making a standard action attack with your main-hand weapon, do you get the two-weapon penalty on your attack roll? Or does it only apply when you are making offhand attacks as well in the same round?

share|improve this question
add comment

2 Answers

The penalty only applies if you are actively using the Two-Weapon Fighting option

Which you can only do as a full-attack.

What you have in your other hand (e.g. nothing, or Unarmed Strike, a shield, or a Shield Bash, a torch, or improvised weapon, or a knife as a light weapon) makes no difference to you unless you actively use the other weapon, and then only if you choose to activate Two-Weapon Fighting for the extra attack.

That’s the deal: +extra attack, −2 attack penalty. Note that if you have multiple attacks for some other reason (BAB +6 or higher, haste, etc.), you could use different weapons for each attack without penalty. You only take the penalty when you get extra attacks.

share|improve this answer
add comment

No. If you're making a single attack, you do not take any two-weapon fighting related penalties.

It's the same thing as if you're using a sword & shield and only attack with the sword, even though technically you could attack with the shield as well, you don't take any penalties unless you actually do.

share|improve this answer
add comment

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.