Take the 2-minute tour ×
Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

Inspired by this question

Most animals have an intelligence of 1-2 in PF. But should you cast Fox's Cunning on one and raise it's int to (say) 6, does it become a magical beast automatically (with better hit dice and attack progression)?

share|improve this question
1  
The reverse could be interesting too: does a Magical Beast with Int damage turn into an Animal at some point? –  leokhorn Nov 27 '13 at 20:31
add comment

4 Answers

up vote 8 down vote accepted

By RAW - It doesn't directly say.

It says animals can't have an intelligence over 2. A spell like Awaken changes the type and grants it more intelligence permanently. The restriction on animal intelligence isn't fleshed out beyond "intelligence score of 1 or 2." So there's really no good RAW answer that I'm aware of.

Given that spells (like Awaken) that change your type usually say so, I'd have to expect that it's not intended for a temporary buff to change your type, HD, and BAB, not to mention break any spells that require the target to be an animal to work (so no Animal Growth on your animal if I first give it more intelligence?).

As for how that restriction works, I see two ways of doing it:

  1. Because the animal type has a cap on intelligence in its description, anything that pushes it over that simply fails.
  2. Allow it to work without changing the type, but with the restrictions still in place. Practically this wouldn't have much effect since a temporary buff to the animal's intelligence isn't going to give it automatic new languages or more skill points.

Either way, actually having it change the type on the fly would be really odd.

share|improve this answer
5  
I would argue that the 1-2 Int is descriptive, not prescriptive. It' not that you physically can't have intelligent animals, it's just that no animals are. I would also argue that the correct answer is the one that messes up the game least. Changing type or spells not working are bigger consequences than simply letting animals have temporary Int higher than 2. –  Ansis Malins Nov 27 '13 at 12:46
    
Yeah really, if a person loses enough INT to go to 2 do they become an animal and have their HD change? That's pretty silly. "No because it's completely unsupported by the rules that it would be the case." –  mxyzplk Nov 28 '13 at 15:45
    
I think the animal entry is unclear. Instead of a cap, it should instead be the base. But like all of the answers, this is just an educated guess. –  Ellesedil Nov 30 '13 at 2:31
add comment

I doubt it.

If it did, it would have some additional wording stating the affect when applied to animals like is found on the awaken spell.

An awakened animal gets 3d6 Intelligence, +1d3 Charisma, and +2 HD. Its type becomes magical beast (augmented animal). An awakened animal can't serve as an animal companion, familiar, or special mount.

share|improve this answer
add comment

Usually there's no practical difference between providing a bonus to a score and actually raising that score, but your particular example hits upon one of the few points where it matters. The spell you mention provides a bonus to the creature's Intelligence, rather than actually raising the creature's score above 2, so the creature's type does not change.

In addition to Magical Beasts, 3.0 had the Beast creature type, which was used for creatures that didn't correspond to things we'd find in nature, but were not actually magical in nature. The Owlbear was probably the most famous example of a Beast, but other "smart animals" could have fit in here as well. 3.5 folded the whole creature type into Magical Beast, though, and PF seems to have followed suit.

share|improve this answer
    
+1 for pointing out the distinction between a bonus to a score and an increase to a score, which is important in 3.X. –  GMJoe Nov 27 '13 at 1:22
add comment

No

Fox's cunning provides a temporary boost to an ability score.

d20pfsrd says the following about such increases:

Temporary increases to your Intelligence score give you a bonus on Intelligence-based skill checks. This bonus also applies to any spell DCs based on Intelligence.

So, RAW neither the Fox's Cunning spell nor the relevant general rule says that it changes type so no type change occurs.

Now, I assume the next question people are going to ask is what happens when someone casts permanency on Fox Cunning in order to trigger the following bolded text from d20pfsrd:

Permanent Bonuses: Ability bonuses with a duration greater than 1 day actually increase the relevant ability score after 24 hours. Modify all skills and statistics as appropriate. This might cause you to gain skill points, hit points, and other bonuses. These bonuses should be noted separately in case they are removed.

Whether or not those other bonuses and statistics include creature type is irrelevant. This is because RAW you can't use Permanency on Fox's Cunning. The Permanency spell linked lists all of the spells that can be made permanent. All other uses are only allowed via DM discretion.

share|improve this answer
add comment

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.