Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

What if a monk is allowed to do an attack of opportunity on a spellcasting enemy, is the monk only allowed to one attack, or use full attack like +10 / +5 for a level 14 monk?

share|improve this question
up vote 9 down vote accepted

From the SRD (italics mine)

Making an Attack of Opportunity
An attack of opportunity is a single melee attack, and a character can only make one per round. The character does not have to make an attack of opportunity if the character doesn't want to. The character makes the attack of opportunity at the character's normal base attack bonus.

An opportunity attack is a single attack, so you'd get a single attack at +10.
Worth noting that if you used Flurry of Blows or any other feature that decreases your to hit roll for the whole round, it still applies to this roll.

share|improve this answer
@Stef you might want to unaccept this answer and wait a pair of days before (eventually) accepting it again. When an answer gets accepted what usually happens is that no more answers get posted, because a "winner" has already been chosen. – Zachiel Nov 30 '13 at 15:51
This is mostly open-and-shut, but be careful about that last line. Flurry of Blows, yes, the penalty applies to any and all attacks that round, including subsequent AoOs. Two-Weapon Fighitng, on the other hand, explicitly applies only to that full-attack. It varies; consult the wording of the particular feature you’re using. Usually what you’re looking for are things like “one round” (until the beginning of your next turn, so including AoOs) vs. “this turn” (ends when your turn does, so doesn’t affect AoOs). – KRyan Nov 30 '13 at 16:08

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.