Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

There are several effects and items that deal damage to the user and have the language "This damage cannot be reduced or prevented in any way". For example the Bloodclaw Weapon in Adventurer's Vault.

I know that means that damage reduction wouldn't apply. And that you couldn't let another party member (such as a paladin) step in and take that damage for you.

Does that text affect the healing of that damage in any way?

Is there any reason I couldn't regenerate or second wind to recover those hit points?

share|improve this question
Why do you think this clause prevents damage transferal? – the dark wanderer Jan 18 '15 at 5:06
up vote 19 down vote accepted

No this does not stop you healing the damage.

The damage can not be reduced or prevented, you have to take the damage.

What happens after that, eg healing, has nothing to do with the damage once you've actually taken it. So you aren't reducing or preventing the amount of damage you take.

share|improve this answer
Worth noting, is that use of regeneration powers or your Second Wind depends upon your surviving the damage taken and remaining conscious. – Iszi Sep 27 '10 at 20:09

As to my knowledge, this phrase does not affect recovering from the damage once it was received.

share|improve this answer

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.