Take the 2-minute tour ×
Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

I'm trying to understand firing modes in Shadowrun 5. Let's say an attacker shoots a defender with Burst fire (three rounds in one shot). There's only a target, so we don't use Multiple attacks.

Is it treated like a single attack in both attack roll and damage?

Or must the attacker do three separates attack rolls?

Or the attacker makes one roll, but the target receives damage for every bullet in the three he recieves?

share|improve this question
    
I recall SR1 being significantly more involved. But it's also been 22 years. Seems like each bullet was calculated "to hit." :) –  javafueled Dec 23 '13 at 14:32

1 Answer 1

up vote 6 down vote accepted

From what I can see in the RAW, especially on p180 with the Firing Mode Table, firing a burst at a solitary target is a -2 to the target's defense value when trained on a single target as opposed to the Multiple Attacks; All of which include the Recoil rules.

Edit for clarity: Some extrapolation was also taken from the sidebar on p180 entitled "Not Enough Bullets, specifically the below

If the firing character is short on ammo, reduce each of the modifiers applied by 1 for each bullet they are short.

share|improve this answer
    
So, single attack, single damage, just as you had shot one single bullet. Only apply defense and recoil modifiers, right? –  Flamma Dec 7 '13 at 12:53
    
Yes. Essentially each extra bullet is a -1 to their DV –  CatLord Dec 7 '13 at 13:40
    
This has the unfortunate side-effect that it is not worth to shoot a burt at a surprised opponent. As they do not roll defense anyway. Not really logical in my opinion. –  András Dec 24 '13 at 21:44
    
That's when you spray-and-pray and saturate a whole area with more rapid fire. –  CatLord Dec 25 '13 at 5:22

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.